**Resolution No.: 2020 – 38** 

## A RESOLUTION OF THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF SAN BENITO COUNTY EXTENDING THE TERM OF THE GRAND JURY DUE TO IMPACTS OF COVID-19

WHEREAS, on March 4, 2020, the Governor declared a State of Emergency in California due to the threat of Coronavirus Disease 2019 ("COVID-19.

WHEREAS, on March 19, 2020, the Governor issued Executive Order N-33-20, requiring all Californians to stay home, subject to certain limited exemptions; and

WHEREAS, the San Benito County Board of Supervisors is requested to consider a resolution transitioning the Grand Jury from its current fiscal year term to a calendar year term, which would permit the current Grand Jury to serve until December 31, 2020, if necessary, to complete its work; and

WHEREAS, Penal Code section 905.5 expressly permits a county board of supervisors "by resolution or ordinance" to transition the grand jury from a fiscal year term to calendar year term, and from a calendar year term to fiscal year term;

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that, in light of the foregoing circumstances and the temporary suspension of the Grand Jury caused by the COVID-19 pandemic, and pursuant to Penal Code section 905.5, subdivision (b), the current San Benito County Grand Jury shall continue serving until December 31, 2020, unless discharged earlier upon completion of its duties, by the San Benito County Superior Court; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the San Benito County Grand Jury will thereafter transition back to a fiscal year term, meaning that the next Grand Jury will be impaneled from January 1, 2021, to June 30, 2022 (18 months), at which time the Grand Jury will resume its normal fiscal year schedule.

**PASSED AND ADOPTED** by the San Benito County Board of Supervisors, State of California, at the meeting of said Board held on the 29th day of June, 2020 by the following vote:

AYES:

**SUPERVISORS** 

De La Cruz, Botelho, Hernandez, Medina, Gillio

NOES:

SUPERVISORS AONE &

ABSTAIN: SUPERVISORS NORE

ABSENT:

SUPERIVISORS 12 Onc. D

BY: \_\_\_\_\_

Jaime De La Cruz

Chair of San Benito County Board of Supervisors

APPROVED AS TO LEGAL FORM:

Barbara Thompson, County Counsel

ATTEST:

Janet Slibsager, Clerk of the Board

Janet Slibsage,

Joel Ellinwood Assistant Conty Comen