SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF SAN BENITO
EMERGENCY AMENDMENT TO
SAN BENITO COUNT SUPERIOR COURT BAIL SCHEDULE
#3

WHEREAS, on March 4, 2020, the Governor of the State of California declared a State
of Emergency due to the introduction and spread of the international COVID-19 virus. On
March 13, 2020 the President of the United States of America declared a National Emergency.

As of March 17, 2020, the San Benito County Public Health Officer issued an Order
applicable to all individuals living in the County of San Benito to Shelter in Place and directing all
businesses and governmental agencies to cease non-essential operations within the county,
and to prohibit all non-essential gatherings of certain numbers of individuals or non-essential
travel.

And on March 19, 2020, the Governor of the State of California issued Executive Order
N-33-20 ordering all individuals living in the State of California to stay home or their place of
residence except as needed to maintain continuity of operations of the federal critical
infrastructure sectors.

On April 6, 2020, the Judicial Council of California took certain actions in response to the
COVID-19 crisis, including adopting statewide bail regulations.

The federal, state and local officials and agencies have taken these actions to reduce
the transmission of the COVID-19 virus in order to protect public health and safety.

Accordingly, the Presiding Judge of the Superior Court of the State of California, County
of San Benito hereby amends its Bail Schedule as follows:

1. The following Bail Schedule shall be in effect:

¢ All Misdemeanor and Felony new offenses, with the Bail = $0 (Released on own
exceptions specified below. recognizance)
e Violation of misdemeanor probation. Bail = $0 (Released on own
recognizance)
e Violation of felony probation, post release community Bail = $0 (Released on own
supervision, or mandatory supervision. recognizance); unless the

underlying conviction is for
one of the exceptions listed
below in which case, bail for
the violation shall be the
same as the bail for the
charges of the underlying
conviction.

EXCEPTIONS- TO THE $0 DOLLAR BAIL

PC §243(e)(1), misdemeanor Bail = $6,000

PC §273.5, misdemeanor Bail = $6,000
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PC §273.5, felony

Bail = $50,000

PC §273.6, if the detained person made threats to kill or
harm, or has engaged in violence against, or has gone to
the residence or workplace of the protected party,
misdemeanor

PC §273.6, if the detained person made threats to kill or
harm, or has engaged in violence against, or has gone to
the residence or workplace of the protected party, felony

Bail = $8,000

Bail = $50,000

A serious felony, as defined in Penal Code §1192.7(c), or
a violent felony, as defined in Penal Code §667.5(c)

Bail = remain as previously
scheduled [July 1, 2011, Bail

Schedule]
o Afelony violation of Penal Code §69 Bail = $20,000
e Penal Code §166(c)(1), misdemeanor Bail = $6,000
e Penal Code §166(c)(1), pursuant to Penal Code Bail = $10,000
§166(c)(4), felony
e Penal Code §136.1 when punishment is imposed under § | Bail = $50,000
136.1(c), felony
e Penal Code §262 Bail = $100,000
e Penal Code §649.9, misdemeanor Bail = $10,000
e Penal Code §649.9, felony Bail = $100,000
e A violation of an offense cited in Penal Code §290(c), Bail = $6,000
misdemeanor
e A violation of an offense cited in Penal Code §290(c), Bail = $100,000
felony
o Penal Code §463, as a felony Bail = $10,000
e Penal Code §29800 Bail = $10,000

Misdemeanor violation of VC §23152, §23153; no prior
conviction of VC §§23152, 23153, or 23103.5

Bail = $0 (Released on own
recognizance)

Misdemeanor violation of VC §23152; with one prior
conviction of VC §§23152, 23153, or 23103.5

Bail = $0 (Released on own
recognizance with substance
abuse counseling)

¢ Misdemeanor violation of §23153; with one prior conviction | Bail = $8,000
of VC §23152, 23153, or 23103.5

e Misdemeanor violations of VC §23152, §23153; with two Bail = $11,000
or more prior convictions of VC §§23152, 23153, or
23103.5

s Felony violation of VC §23152 Bail = $100,000

¢ Felony violation of VD §23153, no prior conviction of VC Bail = $100,000
§§23152, 23153, or 23103.5

e Felony violation of VC §23153, with one prior conviction of | Bail = $150,000
VC §8§23152, 23153, or 23103.5

e Felony violation of VC §23153, with two or more prior Bail = $200,000

conviction of VC §§23152, 23153, or 23103.5
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. Anyone taken into custody pursuant to a warrant issued before April 13, 2020, for a
misdemeanor violation of probation shall be cited and released on their own recognizance
($-0- bail).

. Anyone taken into custody pursuant to a warrant issued before April 13, 2020, for a violation
of felony probation, parole, post-release community supervision, or mandatory supervision,
bail shall be set in accord with the Statewide Bail Schedule adopted by the Judicial Council
of California; e.g.-$-0-, released on own recognizance; unless the underlying conviction is
for one of exceptions specified in the Exceptions Table above. In such a case, the bail shall
be as stated in this Emergency Bail Schedule of San Benito County.

. Nothing in this order or in this San Benito County Emergency Bail Schedule shall restrict the
ability of the court to deny bail as authorized by Article |, section 12, or 28(f) of the California
Constitution.

. This Bail Schedule shall be effective April 13, 2020, nunc pro tunc, and shall remain in effect
for ninety (90) days after the State of Emergency declared by Governor Gavin Newsome on
March 4, 2020, ends, or until this Bail Schedule is amended or rescinded.

Dated , 2040
Stgteh/RISanders? [ / J. Omar Rodriguez
Presidthg Judge of the Superior. Court Judge of the Superior Court
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. The bail for anyone taken into custody pursuant to a warrant issued before April 13, 2020,
for any of the exceptions specified in the above table remains as stated on the face of the
warrant.

. Anyone taken into custody pursuant to a warrant issued before April 13, 2020, for a
misdemeanor violation of probation shall be cited and released on their own recognizance
($-0- bail).

. Anyone taken into custody pursuant to a warrant issued before April 13, 2020, for a violation
of felony probation, parole, post-release community supervision, or mandatory supervision,
bail shall be set in accord with the Statewide Bail Schedule adopted by the Judicial Council
of California; e.g.-$-0-, released on own recognizance; unless the underlying conviction is
for one of exceptions specified in the Exceptions Table above. In such a case, the bail shall
be as stated in this Emergency Bail Schedule of San Benito County.

Nothing in this order or in this San Benito County Emergency Bail Schedule shall restrict the
ability of the court to deny bail as authorized by Article |, section 12, or 28(f) of the California
Constitution.

. This Bail Schedule shall be effective April 13, 2020, nunc pro tunc, and shall remain in effect

for ninety (90) days after the State of Emergency declared by Governor Gavin Newsome on
March 4, 2020, ends, or until this Bail Schedule is amended or rescinded.

Dated:  April , 2020
Steven R. Sanders J. Omar Rodriguez
Presiding Judge of the Superior Court Judge of the Superior Court
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